Entertainment Spotlight : Artist Christopher Burdett

  
When did you know you wanted to be an artist?

• I always knew I was interested in creating. I have drawn my entire life and I do not remember a time when I did not actively engage in drawing every day. The focus of what I wanted to create changed over the years, but I always knew I wanted to be an artist. I wanted to be a comic book artist until I released I hated to draw the same thing over and over again. I wanted to make movies, which I did more or less fulfilled working in the makeup effect industry designing and making monsters for shows like Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, and Firefly. The running theme through all my work has been monsters and I finally found a home working in the gaming industry designing and illustrating monsters for various games. 

What do you want visitors and locals to know about being an artist that they may not already know?

• Art is a skill and a job like any other. You learn to draw and paint like you learn to play a guitar, ride a bike, to become a doctor, or to play a sport. There is no mystical power that makes someone an artist, it is hard work and time that creates an artist. You just have to have the patience and interest to stick through all the learning and struggling to become a good artist, just like leaning to be an accountant, a plumber, or a pilot. Talent is a myth. Anyone can be an artist, you just have to work at it. It does not come easily or quickly. Many artists work their entire lives never feeling like they are done learning. Being an artist is a life long career.  

How has the industry evolved over the years?

• The computer has had a huge impact on the industry. The computer allows for a lot of control to edit and manipulate your work. The computer also creates a false sense that it is faster then traditional materials. Speed is becoming more and more important and the turnaround time for deadlines is always increasing. …while the pay has not changed at all. The pay for someone doing book illustrations has not gone up in something like 150 years. Seriously. The computer allows the masses to create vast amounts of work much easier and at a quicker rate. Interestingly, there has been a movement in the last five years of people retuning to traditionally materials to create their work. I find myself among this movement back to paint. Things go in cycles. 

What inspires you for your art?

•The world around me inspires me. I look to the plants and animals of the Earth to be the starting point of creating what does not exist. There is so much wonder, beauty, and amazing reality on Earth to pull from that you would be a fool to ignore what is already around us. No human will ever create something that is more wondrous, awe-inspiring, or horrifying as what the planet already contains. 

What’s next for you?
• To create more of my own work. I create a lot of things for a lot of other people and I need to be spending a lot more of that time working on my own creations.  

Describe being an artist in 5 words or less

• Sacrifice all for your art.

What social media do you use?

• I am on:

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/Christopher-Burdetts-Monsters-153719414655336/

Deviantart – http://www.christopherburdett.deviantart.com

Twitter – http://www.twitter.com/ChrisBurdett

Instagram – http://www.instagram.com/christopherburdett

Tumblr – http://www.christopherburdett.tumblr.com/

Youtube – http://www.youtube.com/user/zungar

Google+ – https://plus.google.com/u/0/+ChristopherBurdett/posts

and I update my blog 3 times a week – http://www.christopherburdett.blogspot.com

   
    
   

About Ron Goldstein

Ron is the owner and founder of Capital City Pedicabs in Tallahassee, Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

